Lucy Kalanithi

When Breath Becomes Air

Lucy Kalanithi

Talk: When Breath Becomes Air

Dr. Paul Kalanithi’s wrote the #1 New York Times bestselling memoir -- When Breath Becomes Air. Kalanithi was a neurosurgery resident at Stanford and a loving husband when he was suddenly diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. He died two years later at the age of 37, eight months after his infant daughter was born. His critically acclaimed memoir, finished with the help of his widow, Dr. Lucy Kalanithi, is a profound, searingly honest, and ultimately life-affirming meditation on the challenge of facing death and the relationship between doctor and patient.

Lucy Kalanithi

An internist on faculty at the Stanford School of Medicine, Dr. Kalanithi completed her medical degree at Yale, where she was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha national medical honor society. She did her residency at the University of California San Francisco and postdoctoral fellowship training in health-care delivery innovation at Stanford’s Clinical Excellence Research Center.

When Breath Becomes Air

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

Find out more