Richard Dawkins

Brief Candle in the Dark: My Life in Science

Richard Dawkins

Talk: Brief Candle in the Dark: My Life in Science

From 1995 to 2008 Richard Dawkins was the Charles Simonyi Professor of the Public Understanding of Science at Oxford University. He is an internationally best-selling author. Among his books are The Ancestor’s Tale, The Selfish Gene, The Blind Watchmaker, Climbing Mount Improbable, Unweaving the Rainbow, A Devil’s Chaplain, The God Delusion, The Greatest Show on Earth and The Magic of Reality. His most recent books are his two-part autobiography. Part 1, An Appetite for Wonder, released in 2013 and A Brief Candle in the Dark released in 2015. To learn more about the Richard Dawkins Foundation for Reason & Science, the mission of which is to promote scientific literacy and a secular worldview, please visit

Richard Dawkins

Richard Dawkins is an English ethologist, evolutionary biologist, and author. He is well-known for his criticism of creationism and intelligent design. In 2006, he founded the Richard Dawkins Foundation for Reason and Science, and he was Oxford University's Professor for Public Understanding of Science from 1995 until 2008.

The Book

For the first time Richard Dawkins reviews with fresh and stimulating insights the evolving narrative of his ideas about science over the course of his highly distinguished career as thinker, teacher and writer. In Brief Candle in the Dark we are invited to meet a fascinating cast of characters described by the pen of one of the most exceptional of them all.

Find out more